top of page

Week 3: Prototyping Humidity & Temperature Sensor

Beep.. Beeep.. Beeeep...

After the interview with Mr Azhar who went to the mushroom farm in Yogyakarta during the period of March & April 2016 for Learning Express (LEX). I was very excited to do the Humidty & Temperature Sensor with the "Borch- XDK" ( Nah, kidding i don't even know how to use it yet ). Hence I prototyped the sensor with an Arduino which we are already proficient at. We have been using Arduino since year 1.

 

Since I was so hyped about our project, I went straight down to Sim Lim Tower to purchase the DHT-11 ( Humidity & Temperature sensor )

from:

Continental Electronic Enterprise

Address: #B1-25, Sim Lim Tower, 10 Jln Besar, 208787

Phone: 6292 2032

I would highly recommend this place as it has majority of the things that we need for our project.

 

So I've connected the sensor as shown followed.

Got the code working in the same night itself but I found out that the code might be faulty. This could be due to my lack of knowledge, I thought that 90% humidity in my room is actually incorrect so I went on to solve the problem the entire night.

Till morning, Wen Wei told me that it should be about 60+ % in the classroom? So i took out my sensor and test it. To my amaze it actually worked out pretty fine. :D

Thanks Wen Wei!!

Lesson learnt, don't be too hasty to make conclusion.

So below is a video of the sensor inside and outside the classroom.

 

The next step was to add a wireless LCD display and Bluetooth to my phone so I can view the reading at ease rather than having to carry the entire sensor around, which is really bulky. Thanks to my project manager (Navindran) for the idea. Always make my life miserable. Do follow me and catch up on the next installment. If you guys got any suggestion do hit me up too !!!

Thanks for reading :DD

 

Written By: Kuan Ming

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page